Hajj, The Pilgrimage. One of the Five Pillars of Islam

August 30, 2017 – September 4, 2017 all-day
Hajj, The Pilgrimage.  One of the Five Pillars of Islam

Hajj, the annual pilgrimage to Mecca, is one of the five pillars of Islam and a journey of symbolism for Muslims. Every act performed during hajj holds its significance and has a historic background. It is compulsory to be performed once in life for Muslims who are adults, physically fit, can afford the journey and financially support their families during their absence.

Hajj is not just a form of worship. It helps understand the bigger and better meaning of life. Above all, it teaches equality by bringing people from all races and cultures at one place to praise Allah and understand the true meaning of love, devotion and worship.

Hajj is practiced in the month of Dhul Hajjah and is just two lunar months apart from the holy month of Ramadan. The significance of Hajj in Islam can be understood from the fact that a whole month is named after and solely devoted to it.

To grasp the importance of this form of worship, it is vital to understand each and every act performed during Hajj. Mentioned below are the prominent rituals of Hajj one should be aware of.

Share this post

Leave a Reply

scroll to top